Networking progress

Networking is not my strongest suite so it is with some excitement (yeah) that I note the progress that I am making as far as my small network setup is concerned. This blog entry was type from my desktop which is planned to be part of the network – actually the central part of the network. It is suppose to be the gateway to the web but so far I think my Windows installation needs to be redone.

I have some networking theory as the foundation of my adventures into network but that is about where it all ends. Yes, I have setup computers to access a Wi-Fi network a couple of times, including machines that were in other languages (like Danish) but I digress. This is my first time setting up a network and the first opportunity I have ever had to configure some network devices such as an access point.

The problem

The problem with the desktop is that I cannot create a new connection. This is what I need in order to connect to the service provider. So I have gone through the normal procedures (warning: not step by step) of going to the Control Panel and then to the Network Connection applet. From here I launch the new connection wizard but when it comes to the part where I am suppose to select how I connect to my service provider, the first two options are greyed out; I am left with the option “connect using a broadband connection that is always on”. Well, the Internet connection I have requires the use of a username and password. I don’t know what’s causing this but I have attempted checking Windows networking components which didn’t work. So the only conclusion I have come to is that I am finally being haunted by the countless beta software I have installed over the life time of this PC.

The current hack

I have a laptop in the network and that is where I have been able to create a new connection without any problem. So the current configuration I have is as follows: the desktop connects to the access point and since the laptop connects to the wireless network, I have shared the Internet connection on the laptop.

This is not an optimal solution of course because if the laptop is not in the network then bye bye internet connection so I still need to figure out how to create a new connection on the desktop and have it setup as the gateway for the network.

Reinstalling Windows is a simple enough process but I have some good data on that hard disk so I would rather not format the hard disk until such time that I can spend some quality time backing up the data I have.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

